Perhaps most importantly, our institutions have dedicated international student offices to help ease your transition and ensure your stay is a success.

Each college or institute has a different approach to this, but all have dedicated staff and activities to guide your journey in Canada from housing and academics to social activities and employment opportunities.

Please see the government of Canada site for some helpful info…

More Sources of Information and Support

National Perspective

Federal Government: www.canada.gc.ca

Citizenship and Immigration: www.cic.gc.ca

Service Canada: www.servicecanada.gc.ca

Welcome to Canada – What You Should Know: www.cic.gc.ca/english/resources/publications/welcome/index.asp and http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/newcomers/pt/index.asp

Get to Know Canada: www.cic.gc.ca/english/newcomers/before-canada.asp

Provinces and Territories: www.cic.gc.ca/english/newcomers/pt/index.asp

Immigration and Ethnocultural Diversity in Canada: www12.statcan.gc.ca/nhs-enm/2011/as-sa/99-010-x/99-010-x2011001-eng.cfm

Canadian Trade Commission Service Information about Canadian Economy and Industries: www.international.gc.ca/investors-investisseurs/advantage-avantage/predictable-previsable.aspx?lang=eng

Newfoundland

Provincial Government: www.gov.nl.ca

Newfoundland and Labrador Tourism: www.newfoundlandlabrador.com/

Prince Edward Island

Provincial Government: www.gov.pe.ca/

Newcomer’s Guide: www.gov.pe.ca/photos/original/popsec_welcom_e.pdf

Island Life: www.gov.pe.ca/islandlife/

Tourism PEI: www.tourismpei.com/index.php3

Nova Scotia

Provincial Government: www.gov.ns.ca

Nova Scotia Start: www.novascotiastart.ca

Living in Nova Scotia: www.immigratetoruralnovascotia.ca/default.asp?mn=1.19.173

New Brunswick

Provincial Government: www.gov.nb.ca

Newcomer’s Guide: http://www.welcomenb.ca/content/wel-bien/en/immigrating_and_settling/publications.html

Travel New Brunswick: www.tourismnewbrunswick.ca

Nunavut

Nunavut Territory Government: www.gov.nu.ca

Nunavut Tourism: http://www.nunavuttourism.com

Quebec

Provincial Government: http://www.gouv.qc.ca/portail/quebec/pgs/commun/?lang=en

Tourism: http://www.bonjourquebec.com/qc-en/accueil0.html

Ontario

Provincial Government: www.gov.on.ca

Orientation to Ontario: www.orientationontario.ca/

Welcome to Ontario: www.citizenship.gov.on.ca/english/publications/docs/welcometoontario/Welcome-to-Ontario.eng.pdf

Settlement.Org Welcome to Ontario: www.settlement.org

Ontario Tourism: www.ontariotourism.com

 

Northwest Territories

Territory Government: www.gov.nt.ca

Northwest Territories Tourism Information: www.gov.nt.ca/research/tourism/

Manitoba

Provincial Government: www.gov.mb.ca/

Living in Manitoba Resource Guide: www.gov.mb.ca/msw/publications/immigrant_guide.pdf

Travel Manitoba: www.travelmanitoba.com

Saskatchewan

Provincial Government: www.gov.sk.ca/

Tourism: http://www.tourismsaskatchewan.com/

Alberta

Provincial Government: www.gov.ab.ca

Welcome to Alberta Information for Newcomers: alis.alberta.ca/ep/careershop/showproduct.html?DisplayCode=PRODUCT&EntityKey=3532

Alberta Tourism, Parks and Recreation: www.tpr.alberta.ca

Yukon

Territory Government: www.gov.yk.ca

Yukon Newcomer’s Guide: www.afy.yk.ca/secteurs/documents/en/d61-newcomers-guide-2008.pdf

Travel Yukon: http://travelyukon.com/

British Columbia

Provincial Government: www2.gov.bc.ca/

Immigration Portal: www.welcomebc.ca

Tourism: http://www.hellobc.com/